[Rdap] Vote for the RDAP12 keynote

Michael J. Giarlo michael at psu.edu
Fri Jun 24 13:03:10 EDT 2011

Hi folks,

The RDAP12 planning committee has been busy with preliminary work on the 
format of next year's event.  Next up is selection of a keynote address. 
  There are three choices for RDAP12:

  * Robert S. Chen
  * Chris Barnes

If you vote for no keynote, the time that would have been allotted will 
be given to an extra panel.  We have two drafts of the program format, 
one w/ keynote and one w/o, so we have planned for both scenarios.

Biographical information about each of the keynotes follows, as well as 
the link to the poll.  Let's aim to wrap up voting by close of business 
on Friday, July 1st.

  *   Robert S. Chen is the director of CIESIN and a senior research 
scientist. He served as CIESIN’s deputy director from July 1998 to April 
2006 and as CIESIN’s interim director from May 2006 to January 2007. Dr. 
Chen is also the manager and co-principal investigator of the 
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC), a data center in the 
NASA Earth Observing System Data and Information System. He is currently 
secretary-general of the Committee on Data for Science and Technology 
(CODATA) of the International Council for Science (ICSU) and a member of 
the new ICSU ad hoc Strategic Coordinating Committee on Information and 
Data (SCCID). ...
      As secretary-general of CODATA, Dr. Chen has co-led efforts to 
develop implementation guidelines for the data sharing principles for 
the Global Earth Observing System of Systems (GEOSS), and is currently a 
member of the Data Sharing Task Force of the Group on Earth Observations 
(GEO). With support from ICSU, he is helping to lead a CODATA initiative 
to develop a Polar Information Commons aimed at promoting stewardship of 
polar science data and information. He contributed to CODATA’s 
activities at the second World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), 
including co-authoring of an editorial in Science with former CODATA 
president Shuichi Iwata of the University of Tokyo.

  *   Chris Barnes is Director of NEPTUNE Canada (2001-), the large 
Canadian ocean megaproject that will help transform the ocean sciences. 
He has helped secure over $140 million toward the installation and 
operation of the world's first regional cabled ocean observatory network 
and leads a staff of over 40 specialists. For the previous decade, he 
served as Director of both the Centre for Earth and Ocean Research and 
the School of Earth and Ocean Sciences at the University ofVictoria, 
British Columbia. Geology degrees (Birmingham, Ottawa) and a PDF (Wales) 
were followed by an academic appointment at the University of Waterloo, 
Ontario in 1965, including as Chair of Earth Sciences (1975-81). In a 
similar chair position at Memorial University of Newfoundland (1981-87), 
he also established and led the Centre of Earth Resources Research. From 
1987-89, he was the Director General of the Sedimentary and Marine 
Branch of the Geological Survey of Canada.Chris Barnes has served on 
many boards and councils, including as President of the Geological 
Association of Canada, the Canadian Geoscience Council, and the Academy 
of Science of the Royal Society of Canada; also as Group Chair of both 
Earth Sciences and Interdisciplinary for the Natural Sciences and 
Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC); and as a commissioner of 
the Canadian NuclearSafety Commission and a member of the International 
Ocean Drilling Program and the International Commission on Stratigraphy. 
His own research involves geology, micropaleontology, stratigraphy, 
paleoceanography and paleoclimatology. He has authored or co-authored 
over 150 publications.
      For his various contributions, Chris Barnes has received the J. 
Willis Ambrose, Elkannah Billings, Past Presidents, and Logan medals of 
the Geological Association of Canada, the Bancroft Award of the Royal 
Society of Canada, the Pander Society Medal, the Brady Medal of The 
Micropalaeontological Society, and the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal. He 
was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of 
Waterloo in 2007. Fellowship has been awarded in the Royal Society of 
Canada and the National Academy of Sciences, Cordoba, Argentina. In 
1996, he was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada

Vote here:  http://bit.ly/rdap12keynotepoll

If you run into problems with the poll or have any questions, feel free 
to contact me directly.

-Mike, on behalf of the RDAP12 planning committee

More information about the RDAP mailing list